jump to navigation

If I Can Exercise, Anyone Can! July 24, 2010

Posted by Jen in Exercise, Motivation.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Do you work out? How often? Why not? What are your favorite types of exercise? Do you strength train? Do you stretch?

I just like to ask alot of questions, don’t I?

I love to workout. I’m working on loving strength training. I am often too lazy to stretch, but I’m a work in progress, as we all are. In fact, 10 years ago, at age 20, I was just starting to get a taste for exercise.

Growing up I was about as un-athletic as they come. I hate gym class, was always picked last for every team, and pretty much dreaded anything that required any coordination on my part. I did ride horses from maybe age 10 to 14, which certainly was a workout, though I only did that once a week.

I hated to run, hated to play volleyball, hated gym. Did I mention I hated trying to be athletic? I should add that I didn’t mind walking and biking around my neighborhood, and I have liked hiking since high school. I didn’t think of those activities as working out, though, just as fun things kids did.

In college, though, I started hitting the gym with my roommates. Over the winter I joined a gym for a month. I finished college and purchased workout DVDs (and videos, hello!) to follow along. I bought free weights. In my mid twenties I started running. Not competitively or anything, but I have run two half-marathons at this point. I still walk regularly, hike, lift weights, go to the gym, etc. Once I got started it didn’t take long before I was hooked.

And if you’re not hooked yet, trust me, it can happen to you, too. It didn’t matter that I wasn’t a team sports player in high school; I actually have great coordination and can do step aerobics. It didn’t matter that I would walk the mile instead of running it during the bi-annual Presidential Fitness Challenge; I have now run a mile in as fast as 7 minutes and 30 seconds. Why do I exercise? Because my life doesn’t feel complete without it. Because it feels good.

Imagine waking up in the morning and having energy. Imagine really wanting to head outside for a brisk walk or a run. Imagine being excited about getting sweaty! If you are resistant to the idea of exercise, think about it as a gift to yourself, not as something that is taking you away from other activities. What would you rather be doing? Watching TV? Surfing the ‘net? 30 minutes of physical activity will leave you way more invigorated than that!

What’s your excuse for not exercising? And how are you going to change it starting NOW?

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

