jump to navigation

Knowing Is Half the Battle July 14, 2010

Posted by Jen in Binge Eating, Emotional Eating, Motivation, Weight Loss.
trackback

Source

You’ve heard that “knowing is half the battle”, right? At least if you ever watched G.I. Joe you’ve heard it. I think it’s true, too, when it comes to dealing with food/body image/diet issues.

First you have to know you have an issues. You have to realize that you’re way too obsessed with being perfect, or your need to finish the entire cheesecake isn’t normal or healthy, or that worrying about your thighs day in, day out, isn’t going to get you anywhere.

But once you know, what the heck are you supposed to do next? I think a large part of the second half of the “battle” is believing.

Believing you can overcome your issues. Believing you have or can learn the tools to recover. Believing that even after a crappy day, meditating or stretching or petting your cat is better than whatever strategy you’re currently using to deal with stress that’s causing you harm. Believing even after you fall down 2712 times that you can still get back up and still live the life you dream of.

I think belief in myself, and subsequently following through with my belief in myself, was the hardest hurdle I had to tackle in  my Journey to the Center of Jen. In the beginning of my disorder (after I knew I had one) every time I overate, or used food to deal with my emotions, or felt sick from eating too much, I would beat myself up. Over time that changed and I stopped being so hard on myself. But, unfortunately my binges and compulsive overeating continued.

So what finally changed it? Many, many things, but I think one of the best things I ever did was to decide that I believed I could overcome my eating disorder. I knew I had every tool I would ever need to deal with my emotions without using food (meditating, exercise, inquiry, self-coaching, supportive and loving friends and family, a therapist, journaling, stretching, and on and on). However, in times of deep anxiety, I would throw that knowledge out the window and tell myself I couldn’t do it. When the binge was through I could say, “See, you can’t do it. You’ll never stop.”

Woah! That was some seriously self-defeating behavior, and until I decided, “You know what, I have everything I need and I truly believe I can follow through with these skills and use them to cope instead of eating” that I finally did overcome my eating and body obsessions.

First you have to acknowledge, or know, you have a problem that you want to change, then you have to believe you can change it.

Do you believe in yourself?

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

