jump to navigation

How To Stay on Track on Vacation July 12, 2010

Posted by Jen in Exercise, Mindful Eating, Motivation, Weight Loss.
trackback

I just got back from a weekend camping trip. I’ve certainly gone on trips in the past where my days were spent consuming too many potato chips, cookies, beers, and other junk food, and I usually ended up feeling sick and bloated later. This trip was different, though. I kept in mind my own gentle guidelines for good living, and came off the weekend feeling great. Here are some of the things I did, and how you can do them for yourself:

  1. Pack Healthy Snacks! I made sure we stopped at a fruit stand on the way to the beach, picking up peaches and tomatoes and corn. I packed oatmeal in case we had breakfast at the campsite, and brought whole grain bread and crackers, peanut butter, and plenty of water. I did pack some cookies, but they were made with whole grains and weren’t too unhealthy. Being prepared in any situation is key. How can you eat healthy if you don’t have healthy choices?
  2. Stick To Your Schedule. Sure, it might be harder to stick to a workout or eating schedule on vacation, but make your best effort to do so. I walked at the beach each day, and kept a pretty regular eating schedule. Sometimes I ate later than normal, but I continued listening to my hunger cues and feeding my body what it wanted when it told me I needed to eat!
  3. Keep Your Goals In Mind. I wanted to eat delicious food if we went out to eat, but I also wanted to stay relatively healthy. There are far, far too many opportunities to overeat in modern-day America, so it’s best to really try to eat healthy most of the time (plus your one treat or sweet per day!) I stuck with salads with dressing on the side, fruit instead of hash browns, plain baked potatoes, and limited the number of slices of pizza I had to two. I got plenty to eat and never felt deprived. I also had a soft serve ice cream. However, it was huge, and I chose to knock some of the ice cream off and didn’t finish the whole cone – if I’m going to have a treat, I’m still going to listen to my body’s signals – and my body said it didn’t want the entire thing. I also limited myself to one drink per night – no need to let alcohol ruin my healthy choices.
  4. Pat Yourself on the Back. You’re making a choice to live a healthier lifestyle. Good job! Now congratulate yourself for the changes you’ve made, big and small. This isn’t easy, but eventually it will become second nature.

What do you do to stay on track?

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

