jump to navigation

One Page Miracle August 3, 2010

Posted by Jen in Meditation, Motivation.
trackback

Yay! Today a link to my post about how BED made my life better appeared on Healthy Tipping Point. In fact, that may how you came to be reading there very words! Welcome.

I have to say that I am in such a good place these days, I am just brimming with enthusiasm and bursting with excitement – and I want to share it! I have been through so many, many ups and downs, but I know, for a fact, that the more you work at improving your life, the better it’s going to get. I promise. You just have to keep getting back up after you get knocked down. And you will get knocked down.

For the last week or so, I’ve been reading Change Your Brain, Change Your Body by Dr. Daniel G. Amen. (I wrote another post about it here.)

One of the things I’ve been doing since I started reading the book is reviewing my life goals every.single.day. I’ve written down my goals many times before, but something about consistently reading them after I get up in the morning and before I go to bed at night seems to be having an impact on me.

Here’s what Dr. Amen suggests:

  • Write down all of your goals on one sheet of paper. He calls it the “One Page Miracle”. Apparently your brain really likes hearing/seeing your goals!
  • Write goals for a variety of areas in your life. The suggestions are relationships (over all plus sub categories for spouse/partner, family and friends), work, money (over all plus short and long-term goals), and health (over all plus weight, nutrition, exercise, and mental health).
  • Keep the goals short and succinct. This is my suggestion – if you’re going to fit it all on one page and read it daily, you’re going to have to keep the goals to a sentence or two – get right to the point! Your brain will thank you.
  • Read it every single day. Reading my goals in the morning at night is really becoming a habit. I concentrate on them and try to internalize them as I read them.
  • Ask yourself, “Is this action helping me reach my goals?” If one of your goals for mental health is to counteract negative thoughts, and you find yourself wallowing in them in the middle of the day, check in with yourself. Is this helping you achieve the goals you wrote down on your “One Page Miracle”? Or, if you’re reaching for a second or third glass of wine or cookie, is this action helping you reach your goals?
  • Tweak your goals as you go. This is another suggestion from me. I know my goals are always pretty similar, but I find having mini goals helps me stay on track, as does the ability to update and rewrite my goals. I intend to write my goals over each week, so each week I have something fresh to read over.

What about you? How do you manage your goals? Would you try the “One Page Miracle”?

Comments»

1. Monique - August 4, 2010

My husband and I actually have a dry erase board in our hall by our front door. On our one year anniversary this year, we decided to make goals as a family, and one goal each individually. I wrote them there in a code (so that guests won’t be in on our little secrets). It’s nice because we see them everyday when we come home and before we leave.

Jen Trinque - August 4, 2010

I love that idea!!!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

